Being Theatrical.

well usually the first thing that comes to mind when someone says “theatrical” is like some old quote from Hamlet or Shakespeare “to be or not to be” “all the word’s a stage and the men and women in it are just merely players” but what people don’t always remember is how much theatre has EVOLVED into modern fun theatre. An older lady in a show I was in told me she really didn’t like modern theatre and I was a little bit shocked because I thought how do you LOVE theatre but not modern theatre? But then it hit back at me- do I love older theatre? So here’s my conclusion. I think to be a well- rounded “theatrical” person you have to love everything about there not just the upbeat show tunes from Millie- but also Phantom of the Opera and Shakespeare and all. I’ve been in both Shakespeare shows and modern and I’m not saying we all have to be in shows to show we care. I think just reading a Hamlet script for a few minutes would do. Then I thought. What has never changed about theatre- LIVE THEATRE- is that it’s always live. and nothing gives you quite that rush of sharing your work with an audience. The actors that were merely players in Shakespeare’s stage did it. And so do we. So I guess that’s just my meaningless spiel of the day. But the point is love and everything about it. Be….theatrical.

Image

comment below!

